Skip to main content

Google+ Notification Changes


Google has made a small but (fairly) significant update to the Google+ notification system, but what does it mean for you?

The original post from Google says:


"More ways to control what you read and share

Last year we launched volume "sliders" to help you tune the posts in your main stream... and since then we've extended this feature across Google+. Today we're excited to roll out three related improvements that give you even more control over what you read and share.

1) We've all got circles of friends whose content we don't want to miss. By moving a circle's slider all the way to the right, you can now get notified whenever they share something new.

2) For these select circles, we often have news we really want to share -- like getting engaged, or landing a job. In these cases you can now check "Also send email" when sharing, to help make sure your friends see your message.

3) Finally... we want to enjoy (some people's) posts in the stream, but we don't want a notification every time they share with us. Now you can do exactly that: just click “Mute” from notifications or their profile."

The first update is pretty obvious. Go to a Circle's stream using the selector at the top of the main stream: (see below picture)


You'll then see a slider over to the right hand side. This allows you to change the volume of posts from this circle as well as the new option of being notified by email when they post.


Second we now have a new look to the "notify a circle" feature. It's now called "Also send email to" but works in the same way as the old feature. Basically tick the box if you want to share directly with that circle.

NOTE: They will not receive an email unless they have specifically enabled that notification setting. (it is on by default though) Settings also affect whether or they receive a "red" (non-email) notification. They need to have enabled "anyone" (or you) to be able to send them notifications on the settings page.



Lastly, we can now also "mute" persistent notify offenders, or those that just post too much. There's a clickable "mute" button on the bottom right side of their profile and on the bottom right side of the post "permalink" pages. (eg https://plus.google.com/u/0/115257302827102423054/posts/3AekooBmbAe)


So there you go, that's a brief overview of the changes. Anything we missed? Let us know here, or on Google+.

Need more help with Google+? Follow us on Google+ for tips! You can also check out our Google+ Coaching and Training for an extra boost.

Popular posts from this blog

The Google+ Habit: Part 1 - Identity

First in a series of posts looking at Google+ as a part of your daily routine.

The Google+ Habit: Part 4 - Engaging

Fourth in a series of posts looking at Google+ as a part of your daily routine.